Weather Data Source: Mississippi Weather


Oktibbeha County, Mississippi

Starkville’s executive and legislative powers are shared by a mayor and a seven-member board of aldermen who are both elected for four-year terms. Lynn Spruill, a Democrat and the first female mayor elected in Starkville’s history, has served as mayor since 2017. Starkville is governed by a strong mayor, who has the authority to appoint municipal officials and reject decisions made by the board of aldermen.

Mississippi House districts 38 and 43 are now represented by Democrat Cheikh Taylor and Republican Rob Roberson, respectively. Mississippi Senate districts 15 and 16 are represented by Republican Bart Williams and Democrat Angela Turner-Ford, respectively. The northern districts of the Mississippi Transportation Commission and Public Service Commission, which are represented by Republican John Caldwell and Democrat Brandon Presley, include Starkville and Oktibbeha County.

Congressman Michael Guest represents Mississippi’s 3rd Congressional District, which includes Starkville.


Would you like to add your business to our site?